What are the Penalties for a DWI Conviction in New York?
A New York conviction for drunk driving can bring life-altering consequences. If you’ve been charged with DWI, DWAI, or DWAI-Drug, you need to understand the penalties you might face if you’re convicted. Read on to learn about the fines, driving restrictions, and possible jail time for a New York DWI conviction, and contact a Hudson Valley DWI defense lawyer if you have any additional questions.
Misdemeanor DWI Charges Have Potentially Serious Consequences
A conviction for driving while intoxicated can be extremely costly. A first-time conviction for driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher, or while exhibiting some other evidence of intoxication, can result in a fine of between $500 and $1,000, in addition to other court costs. A driver convicted of DWI can expect their license to be revoked for at least six months, and they could even face up to a year of jail time. If the driver’s blood alcohol level is higher than .08, the potential penalties will increase. For drivers convicted of DWI who have a BAC of .18 or greater, they can be convicted of aggravated DWI. This crime carries a potential fine of $1,000 to $2,500, along with a license revocation lasting for at least a year and a potential year-long jail term. Even if a driver’s BAC does not reach .08, drivers can be convicted of driving while ability impaired (DWAI) if they have a BAC between .05 and .07 or show some other sign of impairment.
Repeat Convictions Have More Serious Consequences
The severity of potential penalties increases substantially after an initial conviction.
- A second DWAI conviction in five years could cost a convicted driver up to $750 in fines and result in up to 30 days spent in jail, as well as a minimum six-month loss of their license.
- For a second DWI conviction in ten years, a convicted driver will face felony charges that carry a fine of up to $5,000, up to four years in jail, and a year-long license revocation.
- After a third DWI conviction in ten years, the potential jail term could stretch to seven years, and the fine could rise to $10,000.
The best way to protect your rights when you’re facing DWI charges is to hire a seasoned New York DWI defense attorney. Your attorney will investigate your case and locate any evidence that supports your innocence or shows that officers did not act responsibly when arresting you. Your attorney will also negotiate with prosecutors on your behalf and will use all evidence that supports your good character or right to leniency during sentencing.