New York Texting While Driving Accident Lawyer Serving NYC and the Hudson Valley
Helping Victims of Distracted Driving Accidents
In any given moment while you’re on the road, there are a dozen reasons that, were you to let your attention lapse, you could become involved in an accident. Drivers who devote their attention to their phone’s screens rather than to the road in front of them are risking their own lives as well as the lives of those around them, not to mention breaking the law. Despite harsh penalties on texting and driving, the practice remains a common and deadly habit for many New York drivers.
Money damages may be available after an accident with a distracted driver
If you’ve been seriously injured in a motor vehicle accident by a distracted driver, you may be entitled to substantial money damages for your medical costs, property damage, and pain and suffering. Find out how to get the money you deserve after an accident by contacting the Goshen personal injury lawyers at Dupée & Monroe for a free consultation.
Studies find that many drivers use their phones while on the road
The dangers of distracted driving are widely reported, and yet a striking number of drivers continue to engage in cell phone use while behind the wheel. The National Security Council reports that distracted driving is regularly one of the top three causes of fatal injuries on the road. The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety has suggested that official estimates attributing 10% of all roadway fatalities to distracted driving are artificially low.
Despite knowing these risks, many drivers admit to using their phones while driving. A recent survey of US drivers conducted by the AAA Foundation found that, while 81%of all drivers say that texting or emailing while driving is a serious threat to safety, and 78% find it completely unacceptable, 40% of drivers have read a text or email while behind the wheel in the past 30 days, and 31% have typed one.
New York imposes tough penalties on texting while driving
New York State lawmakers recognize the dangers posed by distracted driving and have created tough laws to combat the practice. If a driver is caught holding a smartphone, cell phone, or other type of portable electronic device and either talking, texting, viewing or taking photos, or playing games on that device, they can receive a ticket of between $50 and $200. Additionally, the offense carries a penalty of five driver violation points.
Young drivers with a probationary license or Class DJ or MJ license can expect even stiffer punishment. These drivers will receive a mandatory 120-day suspension of their driver’s license or permit the first time they’re caught using their phones while driving, with subsequent offenses resulting in a one-year revocation of their license or permit.
Get help after you’re injured by a distracted driver in Orange County
For legal help you can trust after you’re injured in an accident with a driver who is texting or talking behind the wheel, contact the seasoned and professional Goshen personal injury lawyers at Dupée & Monroe for a consultation on your claims, at 845-294-8900.