New York Drunk Driving Felonies
Being found guilty of driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving while ability impaired (DWAI) both come with serious consequences, potentially including fines, jail time, and suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. But convictions of more serious felony offenses can have a massive impact on your future, limiting your ability to maintain professional licenses, get a job, or even obtain credit. Below, learn about the felony charges that can result from a New York arrest for driving while under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or a combination thereof, and talk to a seasoned criminal defense attorney if you have additional questions.
Felony charges for driving while intoxicated
- Second conviction (or more) for aggravated driving while intoxicated: Driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.18% or more is charged as aggravated driving while intoxicated. Being convicted of this crime a second time within 10 years is a Class E felony in New York. If convicted, you could face fines ranging from $1,000-$5,000 and a jail sentence lasting up to four years. If it is your third (or more) offense, this crime will be charged as a Class D felony, resulting in fines of between $5,000-$10,000 and up to seven years in prison.
- Second conviction (or more) for driving while intoxicated, driving while impaired by drugs, or driving while impaired by a combination of alcohol and drugs: If convicted of a DWI for a second time within 10 years of your first conviction, you’ll face Class E felony charges, carrying up to $5,000 in fines and a four-year jail sentence. If it is your third conviction or beyond, the fines can hit $10,000, and the jail sentence can last up to seven years.
- Driving while intoxicated causing death or injury: If a driver causes an injury or fatality while driving drunk or high, they can be convicted of vehicular assault or vehicular manslaughter. Depending on the circumstances of the crash, the driver can face up to $5,000 in fines and up to 25 years in prison.
- Leandra’s Law: This law makes it a Class E felony to drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol with a passenger under the age of 16 in the vehicle. Drivers can face a four-year prison sentence for this crime. If the intoxicated driver causes serious injury to a passenger under age 16, they can be charged with a Class C felony and face up to 15 years in prison, and if the under-16 passenger is killed, they can face up to 25 years in prison.
- Driving while intoxicated on a conditional license: When drivers are convicted of DWI or a related offense, they may be eligible to receive a conditional driver’s license. If the driver is convicted of a DWAI, DWI, or DUID while on a conditional license, they can face felony charges.
If you’ve been arrested and charged with a felony related to drinking and driving, fight for your future and your freedom with the help of a seasoned DWI felony defense attorney. The Orange County criminal defense attorneys at Dupée & Monroe have dedicated decades to defending client rights under state, local, and constitutional law. Our lawyers understand the fear and anxiety you may be experiencing at the thought of spending time in prison, and we will defend your rights vigorously.
If you’ve been charged with a crime in the New York Hudson Valley, contact the knowledgeable, compassionate, and effective Goshen criminal defense attorneys at Dupée & Monroe for a consultation on your case at 845-294-8900.