Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Dupée & Monroe, P.C., Attorneys at Law
Complimentary Consultations Available 845-294-8900
Home / New York Criminal Law Articles / The Driver Point System in New York

The Driver Point System in New York

One moving violation probably won’t cause you to lose your driver’s license, but it will put points on your license. The New York State driver’s license points system is the state’s way of monitoring the safety of its drivers by keeping track of offenses that don’t result in the immediate loss of driving privileges. Once drivers reach a certain number of points, they will become responsible for annual fees, and if a driver accrues too many points within a certain period, they can lose their right to drive. While drivers do not get points on their license for a conviction of driving while ability impaired (DWAI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), those offenses can also cause a driver to lose their license.

Points assigned for moving violations

Drivers who earn 11 or more points within an 18-month period, starting from the date of the offense, can have their license suspended. Below, you’ll find several moving violations and the points that drivers can earn on their license as a result.

  • Speeding 1-10 mph over posted limit: 3
  • Speeding 21-30 mph over posted limit: 6
  • Speeding over 40 mph over posted limit: 11
  • Following too closely/tailgating: 4
  • Failing to obey a stop sign, yield sign, or signal: 3
  • Texting while driving: 5
  • Failing to stop for a school bus: 5

Certain offenses, such as driving while ability impaired or driving without insurance, will not result in points on a driver’s license but can still result in a license suspension or revocation as well as costly fees and administrative expenses.

Points will not be added to a driver’s record, nor will associated fees be assessed or suspensions occur, unless the driver is convicted of the offense. If you’re at risk of losing your driver’s license due to points accrued on your license, or if you are concerned that you will be unable to afford the high fees that can result from a conviction, contact the aggressive and talented defense attorneys at Dupée & Monroe to discuss your case.

Driver Responsibility Assessment

Drivers who have accrued 6 or more points on their record, been convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related crime, or refused a chemical test will be required to pay a driver responsibility assessment each year. The amount of the assessment will vary depending on the offense.

  • Drivers who have earned 6 points in 18 months will pay $100 each year for three years. If that driver earns more points during the 18-month period, they will pay an additional $25 in fines each year for each additional point earned.
  • Drivers convicted of an alcohol or drugged driving-related offense or who refused to take a chemical test will pay $250 a year for three years, in addition to the other fees and costs associated with a drunk or drugged driving conviction.

Points and Insurance Reduction Program

Drivers can avoid having their license suspended by taking a DMV-approved Point and Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) course. These safety courses will subtract four points from the driver’s record that could otherwise count toward a suspension and can reduce the cost of car insurance for that driver by 10%. However, completing a PIRP course does not completely eliminate the effects of the points the driver has accrued. A PIRP course won’t prevent a mandatory suspension or revocation, such as one resulting from a DWI conviction. The course won’t cause those points to be erased from your record entirely. Finally, drivers who take a PIRP course will still be obligated to pay a driver responsibility assessment if they have earned 6 or more points on their license.

Call the Criminal Defense Attorneys at Dupée & Monroe to Fight Charges and Keep Your License

If you’ve been charged with a DWI or serious moving violation in the Hudson Valley, contact Goshen’s dedicated and effective criminal defense attorneys at Dupée & Monroe for assistance with your case, at 845-294-8900.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn